Elections

Why become a student leader?

Student leadership is an excellent way to add practical experience in management, event planning, budgeting, and team work to your resume. You will become an integral part of the Simmons community and make friends along the way. So don’t hesitate!

Who can become a student leader?

Anyone! You do not need to be advanced in your program to run for student leadership positions. Students in their first or second semester are entirely welcomed! If you are an online student interested in student leadership, many of these positions are available to you as well.

How do I become a student leader?

Nominations for available positions will open near the beginning of Fall term and end of Spring term. LISSA will send out announcements for elections via email and Facebook. You will then be able to nominate yourself by submitting a nomination for Student Leadership via the distributed Google Form. For more information regarding elections, please refer to the LISSA Election Rules.

For information on each student association, visit the Student Associations Directory or contact the point person listed below.

When is the next election?

The Spring 2019 election period has now closed. However, we encourage you to reach out to the contacts listed below at any time if you would like to serve as an acting officer for any of the open positions. The next official round of elections will take place shortly after the start of the Fall 2019 semester.

Positions in red indicate immediate openings.

Library & Information Science Student Association (LISSA)
Questions? Contact Lindsay Olson (lissapres@simmons.edu)
Vice President of Finance
Vice President of Events
Student-Faculty Representative
Secretary
Webmaster

American Library Association – Student Chapter (ALA-SC)
Questions? Contact Clementine Choi (choie@simmons.edu)
Communications Coordinator
Financial Coordinator

Association of Moving Image Archivists – Student Chapter (AMIA)
Questions? Contact Ashley Thomas (ashley.thomas@simmons.edu)
Webmaster

Association for Information Science & Technology (ASIS&T)
Questions? Contact David Heilbrun (heilbrun@simmons.edu) or Molly Carlson (molly.carlson@simmons.edu)
Co-Chair (2)
Communications Officer
NEASIS&T Liaison
Treasurer
Webmaster

Massachusetts School Library Association – Student Interest Group (MSLA-SIG) Questions? Contact Breana Cole (breana.cole@simmons.edu)

Panopticon
Questions? Contact Will Gregg (willjgregg@gmail.com)
Communications Coordinator
Treasurer
Archivist

Progressive Librarians Guild (PLG)
Questions? Contact Loren Mixon (loren.mixon@simmons.edu) or Clementine Choi (choie@simmons.edu)
Co-Chair (1)
Events Chair
Finance Chair

Student Chapter of the Society of American Archivists (SCoSAA)
Questions? Contact Alli Smith (allison.smith4@simmons.edu) or Clara Snyder (clara.snyder@simmons.edu)
Co-Chair (1)
Webmaster

Student Chapter of ALA International Relations Round Table (SCIRRT)
Questions? Alejandro Paz (alejandro.paz@simmons.edu)
Co-Chair (1)
Communications Officer
Secretary
Treasurer
Archivist

Special Libraries Association (SLA@Simmons)
Questions? Contact Puck Malamud (malamud@simmons.edu)
Webmaster

Students of Color at the Simmons SLIS (SoCS)
Questions? Contact Elise Riley (elise.riley@simmons.edu)
Co-Chair (2)
Treasurer
Alumni Liaison
Webmaster

Spectra
Questions? Contact Puck Malamud (malamud@simmons.edu) or Jo Dutilloy (jo.dutilloy@simmons.edu)
Treasurer
Secretary
Webmaster

UXPA@Simmons
Questions? Contact Catherine Dumas (catherine.dumas2@simmons.edu) or Lindsay Olson (lissapres@simmons.edu)
Co-Chair (1)
Communications Officer

Treasurer
Secretary
Webmaster